Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of Rob Hawk, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionRob Hawk, IICounty Extension Director, Jackson and Swain Counties (828) 586-4009 (Office) robert_hawk@ncsu.eduJackson County Center

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Heather Gordon, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionHeather GordonExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (828) 586-4009 (Office) heather_gordon@ncsu.eduJackson County Center

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Katie Ashley, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionKatie AshleyExtension Agent, Agriculture - Horticulture (828) 586-4009 (Office) kaashley@ncsu.eduJackson County CenterPhoto of Adam Griffith, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAdam GriffithArea Agent, CRD (828) 359-6935 adgriff5@ncsu.eduEBCI County CenterPhoto of Kendra Norton, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionKendra NortonExtension Agent, Agriculture - Livestock (828) 586-4009 (Office) kendra_norton@ncsu.eduJackson County Center

Family and Consumer Sciences

Photo of Emily McClure, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionEmily McClureExtension Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences (828) 586-4009 (Office) ekmcclure@ncat.eduJackson County Center

Support

Photo of Freda Childers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionFreda ChildersCounty Extension Administrative Assistant - Administration (828) 586-4009 (Office) flchilde@ncsu.eduJackson County Center

Regional Positions

Area Specialized Agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. Area 4-H Agents provide support to county based 4-H programs. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Jackson County Center, they may not be present in the Jackson County Center. Please contact the Jackson County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of Marti Day, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarti DayArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Dairy Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Orange(919) 542-8202 marti_day@ncsu.eduOrange County Center Photo of April Dillon, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionApril DillonArea Extension Agent, 4-H Youth Development Serves 30 Counties and EBCIBased out of Cleveland(704) 482-4365 (Office) april_dillon@ncsu.eduCleveland County Center Photo of Lisa Gonzalez, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLisa GonzalezRegional Area Specialized Agent - Local Foods Serves 7 Counties and EBCIBased out of EBCI(828) 359-6927 lcgonzal@ncsu.eduEBCI County Center Photo of Lauren Greene, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLauren GreeneArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 31 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wilkes(336) 651-7347 lauren_greene@ncsu.eduWilkes County Center Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Craig Mauney, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCraig MauneyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables and Fruits Serves 39 CountiesBased out of Henderson(828) 684-3562 craig_mauney@ncsu.eduHenderson County Center Photo of Currey Nobles, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCurrey NoblesArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences(919) 515-9520 canobles@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences Photo of Ashley Robbins, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAshley RobbinsArea Specialized Agent - Dairy Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Chatham(919) 542-8203 ashley_robbins@ncsu.eduChatham County Center Photo of Elena Rogers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionElena RogersArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety - Fresh Produce Western NC Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Horticultural Science(828) 352-2519 elena_rogers@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Debbie Stroud, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDebbie StroudArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 33 Counties and EBCIBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9149 dlstroud@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Photo of Amanda Taylor, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAmanda TaylorArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Western Region Serves 28 CountiesBased out of Burke(828) 475-2915 amanda_jo_taylor@ncsu.eduBurke County Center Photo of Skip Thompson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSkip ThompsonArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Aquaculture Serves 13 Counties and EBCIBased out of Haywood(828) 456-3575 (Office) Skip_Thompson@ncsu.eduHaywood County Center Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 414-3873 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County Center